shadow art

A s t o u n d i n g.

I didn’t know art like this existed.

The idea of piecing various objects to form a shadow never crossed my mind. Sure, we make shadow puppets with our hands and bodies, but I never thought about mixing sculpture, light, and shadow.

After I came across this on Twitter, I had to find out more about the artists behind these creations.

self_imposed_misery-nobel-webster

Self-Imposed Misery 2010
by Tim Noble & Sue Webster
2 wooden stepladders, discarded wood, light projector

I wonder why Noble & Webster titled it as they did. It’s true that we “impose” misery onot ourselves; by endlessly worrying for example.

wild_mood_swings_sml-noble-webster

Wild Mood Swings 2009-2010
by Tim Noble & Sue Webster
2 wooden stepladders, discarded wood, light projector

Apparently, Noble & Webster have been creating shadow sculptures since the late 1980s. (Artsy). It’s funny how I’ve discovered shadow sculptures only recently.

shadow-art-kumi-yamashita-7-2

City View 2003
by Kumi Yamashita
aluminum numbers, single light

It’s amazing how lifelike the shadows are and yet, they’re only made of aluminum numbers with one source of light. I wonder how long this took.

origami-kumi-yamashita

Origami 2011
by Kumi Yamashita
creased Japanese paper, single light

I want to try this. It looks easy enough, but then again, my origami skills only consist of being able to make a toy boat, a hat, and a fortune teller.

Leave a Reply

